glowing green smoothie

Good Morning Lovelies!

I’m on cloud 9 today!  Remember yesterday when I was talking about the two juicers I was trying to decide between?  Well, I had a surprise at my doorstep yesterday…Hubs sent me a Breville 800JEXL Juice Fountain Elite from 7,000 nautical miles away!  Well, actually he ordered it from Amazon but the former sounds way more impressive.  And let me tell you, this bad boy is very impressive!  I haven’t had the opportunity to take it for a spin yet…Brownboy Superhero #2 woke in the middle of the night with a headache, fever & nausea and had a hard time getting back to sleep.  Needless to say, I’m walking around like a zombie right now.  I think I’ll make something to juice him back to health & me back to the living & let you know how she rides.  Side note: Be patient while I get things organized.  I’m a lil’ technologically challenged but slowly but surely I’m figuring out how to build the blog.  Maybe you noticed the fancy little menu bar at the top of my page? Scroll up.  See it?!  *curtsy* Thank you, thank you very much.  Yes, I did that all by myself!   Small steps, people, small steps.  I will continue to add links to important info so suggestions on what you would like to see are welcome!

This recipe is from The Beauty Detox by Kimberly Snyder.  This smoothie is central to Kim’s detox program.  It was my first attempt at making a green smoothie & it serves as a good base.  Before reading the beauty detox I never really thought to do much blending with greens besides spinach.  It makes 60 oz. and lasts up to 24 hours in the fridge.  Kim says you can just put in there covered but I still like to put all my juices in a mason jar, flash freeze & then refrigerate.  This recipe calls for romaine and spinach but you can experiment with which leafy greens you like best.  Many people say romaine is mild, however, I find it to be bitter.  I prefer Swiss chard & kale.  After trying this recipe & playing around with the greens, I came up with my sexy green lemonade.  Give it a try and let me know what combinations you come up with!

Glowing green smoothie

KIM’S GLOWING GREEN SMOOTHIE

from The Beauty Detox by Kimberly Snyder

(makes 60 oz.)

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 c distilled water

1 head romaine chopped

3/4 bunch spinach

3-4 stalks celery

1 apple cored & chopped

1 pear cored & chopped

1 banana (I prefer it to be frozen)

juice of half a lemon

optional:

1/2 bunch cilantro (stems ok)

1/3 bunch parsley (stems ok)

Add the water & chopped head of romaine & spinach to the blender.  Starting the blender on a low speed, mix until smooth.  gradually moving to higher speeds, add the celery, apple & pear. Add the cilantro & parsley if you choose.  Add the banana & lemon juice last.